Vanquished foe

Words from a man’s innermost being runs deep
The foolish fear to discern it lest they fall into its pit
Even with Hermes’ foot my goodwill caught up with them
A clean pair of heels?
No they fouled godly feet
Alas!
I can open my mind
The wicked flee my noble intentions
Stinking with malice and a smile that cannot be scrubbed off
They hold a white kerchief saying “ye golden-hearted”
O! These dubious minds but seek my heart
I come with a dagger to seal the truce
But they their scheming minds fail to see the ruse
I see them smile twice, a leer
My hearts not yours for the taking, cease the jeers

Leave a Reply

