What dou you see?

One look up at the sky
I see the sun, bright
I see the clouds, clear
Thick masses of blue and white
Sometimes in the shapes of dreams and nightmares

So what do you see?
I see beauty
I see harmony

One look up at the sky at night
I see a moon, crescent
I see Orion, stars
I ponder over my character, decent
My hearts affections, scarred

So what do you see?
I see struggle
I see compromise

One look down at my feet
(beyond the weather beaten converse)
I see the ground, gravel, dirt
I see the ants, busy, scurrying
There is gold buried deep beneath
I want to dig but I got no tools so I go abegging

So I ask what do you see?
I see hard work
I see disappointment

One look straight ahead
I see colour, people
I see souls, destinies
There are machinations everywhere, evil
For the lost and dying I know Christ is the recipe

So what do you see?
I see the devil
I see salvation

One look straight into myself
I see myself, good, love
I see myself, evil, lust
I am poor but with what to fight, I have
And am gonna be a soldier till I breath my last

What do you see?
I see a calling
I see an answering

Leave a Reply

