Sit down and listen

I sat there and listened

When THEY questioned my manhood

For something as unimportant to me like gold to Robin Hood

Not for how many trysts I had failed at but because at my age

Life had thought someone well the path to walk at that age

 

I sat there and listened

As THEY read me my rights

Obviously not Miranda because I was busy
controlling the tempest inside of me

My right taken I started to compose my bill of lefts

Sitting down with words hitting my hollow shell

 

I sat there and listened

When THEY snarled out the instructions with fangs barely hidden

When THEY judged me

Not for what I had done
but what they imagined I cannot do

 

I sat there and listened

To what THEY had to say

I sat there and reasoned

For what I would be incited to say

I sat there and did my transposition

Disapparating and apparating but with no magic

As the whiring of my mental gears launched my sociological imagination

And sent me applying elenchus to a boisterous worldview

 

And still I sat there and listened

For at that moment that was what was prerequisite

If I should be able to save an already tainted reputation

For in trading places and filling shoes

I felt the pity and insecurity

Which was being held at bay by a resolve equally overwhelming

 

I sat there and listened

But really I was only envisioning

How to put my emotions into words

And empower myself to forge ahead

Leave a Reply

